Workforce Development

Mission

The mission of the Office of Workforce Development is to provide Alabama an efficient and effective workforce development system responsive to current and future needs of individuals and businesses.

The Alabama Community College System provides a wide range of services to help both job seekers and employers reach their potential. ACCS is the primary deliverer of training services. Job placement and training assistance are available through the Alabama Career Center System. Skills assessment and training programs are available for existing, expanding and new businesses through ATN.

Purpose

At no time in Alabama's history has workforce development been more important. Education and skills training are the keys to economic success, individual prosperity, and a great quality of life.

The Governor’s Office of Workforce Development (GOWD) is hosted by the Alabama Community College System. This partnership for Alabama’s workforce development activities enables the State to provide a wide range of career-technical courses and short-term training for job-specific certifications.

Alabama's workforce development efforts parallel the state's ongoing industry recruitment initiatives as-well-as responding to existing industries that need skills upgrades for expanded markets or process improvement training to make them more profitable or to avoid layoffs.

Alabama has a diversified industrial base that brings with it many quality jobs. GOWD’s objective is to develop and implement training programs that will accommodate all current and future workforce needs.


Contacts

Roger Fortner
Director of Work Force Development
334.293.4712
roger.fortner@dpe.edu

Linda Cater
Director of Health Programs
334.293.4553
linda.cater@dpe.edu

Tara Brown
Project Technician
334.293.4702
tara.brown@dpe.edu

Sharon Ingram
Administrative Assistant
334.293.4710
sharon.ingram@dpe.edu

Gene Dudley
Director of Career & Technical Education
334.293.4652
gene.dudley@dpe.edu

Dave Laton
Assistant Director of Career & Technical Education
334.293.4581
dave.laton@dpe.edu

Shalyndrea Jones
Administrative Assistant
334.293.4705
shalyndrea.jones@dpe.edu

Darlene Thompson
Liaison, Regions 2, 5, and 8
334.275.7646
darlene.thompson@dpe.edu

Lisa Rollan
Liaison, Regions 1, 4, and 7
334.293.4707
lisa.rollan@dpe.edu

Judy Graham
Liaison, Regions 3, 6, 9, and 10
251.510.1518
judy.graham@dpe.edu

Documents

  ACT Centers
  Application for Funds
  Perkins Policy and Procedure Guidebook
  WorkKeys Solutions Providers
  Job Profiling Services