Wallace State Community College’s Jeremy Smith named recipient of John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Award

HANCEVILLE, ALA. –  Wallace State Community College’s Jeremy Smith, diesel technology department chair, has been named a recipient of the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award.

Smith, who has led the Diesel Technology program since fall 2009, will be recognized at a banquet this month in Chicago for his outstanding contribution to leadership, teaching and learning --- the attributes directly tied to being a Roueche Excellence Award winner.

Under Smith’s guidance, Wallace State's Diesel Technology program has added new short-term certificates and established partnerships with multiple trucking and transportation industries. Enrollment in the program has also increased since Smith took over the position.  

Wallace State’s Diesel Technology program offers an Associate in Applied Science General Technology, a Diesel Technology long-term certificate and short-term certificates in Transport Trailer Technology, Preventive Maintenance Specialist and Diesel Engine Specialist.

The Diesel Technology program also collaborates with the Business Management program for its Transportation Management degree and the Continuing Education program to help individuals earn their Commercial Truck Driver (CDL) training.

The Roueche award is presented to college employees annually by the League for Innovation in the Community College, a consortium of more than 750 community colleges and universities worldwide.  

Wallace State is a member of the League of Innovation, which established the John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards in 2012 in recognition of both individuals who have served as leaders and teachers in American community colleges for more than 35 years.

History instructor Leigh Ann Courington was Wallace State’s recipient last year.